Posted by: Shara | May 2, 2017

Dear Challenge

Love Letters:    My Strongest Companion, Challenge

Dear Challenge,

You know me better than I know myself, though I know that I often pretend that it’s the other way around. On a good day you see me on the rise, exuberant and exultant, riding on the elation of the win. On a bad day, you hear me cursing your name, battling to overcome the scars that come from a long and difficult relationship with one such as you. I know that the tests and trials are what unify us, and we have seen many together. The hardships we have navigated in the name of life have left me grateful that I have grown… and grateful that I did not know what was ahead at that time.

I am humbled by your constant presence, for I have discovered that I need you in every way in my life. Your very essence is my drive for living, learning, growing, and pushing myself to be greater than I was. I thrive on the ideas you bring to the table. My mental focus is sharper because you teach me to fight for clarity and deeper understanding. My emotional balance rides on whether I can overcome the obstacles you throw in my path; my peace comes from knowing that I ran (or slogged) straight through, and not away from, every task. My physical side might need a bit of work, and though you have offered many incentives for change, I know that I have been more resistant than necessary. I know you will encourage my betterment in that area, too, because confidence in my body is hard to come by. All of my spiritual strength has come from you. Knowing that life would not be easy doesn’t change my desire to have you in my life. If it weren’t for you, the God that I know, the Savior that I love, and the family that I seek to hold forever would elude me. As a companion, you are the one truth I have in my life. I know that you have my best interests at heart.

In my most honest moments, I admit that sometimes I have not wanted to see this through. There have been days when I thought I might not make it to the finish line. Whenever I push, you push back. I know this only creates opportunities for me to grow, and I am learning to accept that. I need you to know that I am thankful for you, and that I know with all my heart that there is nothing better for me.

Shara

Leave a Reply

Categories

