Posted by: Shara | June 25, 2011

Slow and Steady

“It’s very difficult to keep momentum if it’s you that you are following.”  This apt quote from Evita speaks of the difference in us between following ourselves and following someone else.  Am I capable of being the boss, the momentum, and continuing on through the hard times to rise to the top?  Do I cave in difficult times, instead of hanging in there when the ‘going gets tough,’ and find it easier to give in and follow someone else?

Almost three months ago to the day, I started pursuing this course.  Some amazing things have happened, like winning a major contest with some awesome prizes, being chosen for guest posts on other blogs, and increasing my writing capabilities and getting back into the swing of things.  Even my elementary school-age son has started reading and analyzing poetry!

There should not technically be a downside.  I am experiencing one of those growing places, though, that is hard because it is so bland.  The exciting things aren’t happening, I need to complete more writing to get to that stage, so I am slogging along.  I have realized that I am one of those human creatures that desires, enjoys, the immediate feedback to my work.  Even if it is slightly negative and gives me a whole paper’s worth of writing material in rant, that seems to be more stimulating than the nothing.

One of my favorite quotes is “Slow and steady wins the race.”  I say ‘favorite,’ because I use it as my litany, my mantra, when I am trying to hang in there.  It is NOT my favorite saying by definition, however.  I don’t think that most people enjoy the slow, purposeful pace that it sometimes takes to get somewhere.  I think this is the problem with reaching completion and success, however.  It seems easier right now, in my slow, fogged-out brain, to say “Forget it, what was I thinking?”  In a month, though, I would look back and regret that lost time for a rash decision, and all of the potential (and lost) opportunities.

And so, at this moment, I am going to “keep on keepin’ on.”  Even if I have to force myself to write.  They say hindsight is 20/20, and I don’t want to look back in “perfect” hindsight and regret.  Those old sayings and cliches were past people’s mantras, I believe, encouraging them to the finish line.  So, “Here’s to the tortoise!” I say.   <clink!>

Leave a Reply

Categories

