Posted by: Shara | June 24, 2011

Say “Yes!”

Sometimes it can be hard to say “yes” to something that we do not feel like we have time for or might be unsure about wanting to do.  Saying “yes” can be inconvenient, uncomfortable, or make us anxious.  But we can lose out on a lot of good things by sticking to good old “no.”  There are people that we will never meet, experiences we will never have, and opportunities we will miss.

I support “no” when it counts.  “NO, I am not going to be put down any longer!”  “NO, you may NOT borrow my lawn mower (after breaking my hedge trimmer).”  “NO, you do not get to take credit for what I did.”  But the times to say “yes” can be sneaky.  “I am too tired, I don’t want to go.”  What if this was changed to “yes,” and the boss chose you for the next promotion because you showed loyalty?  What if “I hate baseball games” led to a “yes” with your friend, only to run into that gorgeous guy at the office who happens to be a fan?

There is one catch.  If “no” becomes “yes,” don’t make the time spent insufferable.  Then it will prove that “no” should have stayed in place, but it will also prove that there is no effort truly going into changing anything.  Any time can be a good one, with positive attitude.

I have been invited to participate in some other writers’ play.  This one is called Short Story Slam, and it is a forum for poets to share their creativity.  The prompt is a dock filled with boats, and we are to write about it.  I decided to say “yes” and see what came of it!  This is my contribution.

The Boat Waits

The boat waits patiently for me
Until adventure comes once more
Refreshing spirits with the sea
The boat waits patiently for me
Just like an old friend, silently
No need for twin souls to implore
The boat waits patiently for me
Until adventure comes once more

A triolet has a rhyme scheme of ABaAabAB and is written in iambic tetrameter. (Capital letters represent repeated lines, and the lower case letters are rhyming lines.  All letters that are the same should be rhyming lines, whether capital or lower case.)

  http://bluebellbooks.blogspot.com/

Responses

  1. A great triolet! Wow rhyming has always been hard for me to execute and you’ve done so masterfully

    • Thank you so much! I appreciate your comments and willingness to read my poetry!

  2. Excellent use of iambic tetrameter and of rhyme. Congratulations. For a different patiently-waiting boat, pay me a visit. 🙂

    • Thank you for the response on my mechanics. Some of these forms can be hard to use. I appreciate you stopping by!

  3. Yes! Refreshing spirits with the sea. Always true. Good line.

    • I love the ocean as much as I love the mountains. Nature is always a good way to get back to one’s self. Thank you so much for the positive feedback.

  4. Very nice and very well done! Enjoyed it a lot!

    • Thank you for your kind comments!

  5. i so love the word flow.

    Cheers.

    • Thank you for supportive words!

  6. I like the triolet – well written!

    • Thank you so much!!

  7. The words and the execution of the delivery were exceptional – an excellent write!

    • Thank you for your precise words and generous comments. I appreciate your supportiveness!

  8. […] The boat Waits: https://sharadarke.wordpress.com/2011/06/24/say-yes/ […]

    • Thank you so much! I am grateful for the nomination!


Leave a Reply

Categories

