Posted by: Shara | June 20, 2011

Bridges of Life

How do we overuse words to the point that we are desensitized to them?  We say we love chocolate, love our pets, love our children, love that new restaurant, and love our spouse.  That’s a lot of love!  But then there are the times when we can look at someone and say that “Saying ‘I love you’ isn’t enough.”  If we mean the words, shouldn’t that be enough to carry weight?

I was looking for a theme for my poetry book, and came up with Bridges.  I looked it up on Amazon like any good researcher.  I stopped looking after page 5.  Interesting, isn’t it, how something that everyone relates to becomes, well, common.  I took the name from a poem that I wrote in shortened 2-3-2 form, which I posted here.

Bridges

Bridges
Life stories
Changing

Are bridges cliche?  Sadly, I found out that the metaphorical references went for miles.  So, I would have to yes.  Yes, they are.  I love bridges, though, and so I am sticking to my poetry.  Cliche will just have to work with me here!

On a more serious, less sassy note, I believe that we all connect to bridges because of the many representations that they have.  We cross bridges to get where we are going.  Bridges represent something new on the other side.  Rickety bridges make us feel like we have completed a difficult feat successfully once they have been overcome.  Bridges help us cross chasms that would otherwise hold us back.  Bridges are beautiful.  Bridges are ugly.  Bridges make our travel easier.  Metaphors for life?  You bet!  And there are surely more.

So, according to the metaphorical poetry, change your life, build a story, cross a bridge, today if possible.  And continue on in grand fashion through your amazing life journey!

Leave a Reply

Categories

