Posted by: Shara | June 16, 2011

Confidence and Courage

Sometimes other people are better equipped to help our children than we are.  When my daughter was young, she wouldn’t listen to my coaching about singing, telling me that I had no idea what I was talking about.  I wanted to teach her, show her, be the ultimate expert in her eyes.    But that isn’t how it was meant to be.

She had begun showing a potential for singing.  When my husband heard a particular children’s choir, he took our daughter to audition for them and she made it.  He described them to me this way.  “Yes, they are a children’s choir, ages 5-17 I’m told.  But, they are actually GOOD!  They can SING!”  This was our introduction to Masa Fukuda and One Voice Children’s Choir.

Three years later, she began singing solos.  This is my submission to them of my view of my daughter, now.

As I watched my daughter sing a solo in the school talent show, one of only two sixth grade acts chosen to perform, I silently thanked Masa for his love of children, of music, and of my daughter.  The girl who was so afraid of performing, of going out in front of an audience, of showing who she really was three years ago, was singing one of Masa’s numbers in front of 700 people.  She wasn’t just singing a solo in front of such a large crowd.  She was singing part of the song in Japanese!  She dressed up in a kimono, did her hair and makeup, and came out on stage full of confidence.  When the song started in the middle, she very quietly leaned over to the person running the song and said, “Please start the song over, this is the middle.”  Then she stood, poised, smiling, waiting for it to start again.  I have never been so close to tears.

All of the confidence that my daughter has gained, and the beautiful voice that she is developing, is due to Masa Fukuda, One Voice Children’s Choir, and the wonderful people that support it.  If it wasn’t for them all, my daughter wouldn’t have her “voice.”  I know that one day, that voice will be the vehicle of a young woman with confidence, courage, and power, because she had a chance to be a part of something greater than herself.

Check out One Voice Children’s Choir at http://www.onevoicechildren.com/ or look for video footage on YouTube.

One last note.  While at first I wasn’t sure that I liked the idea of other people having such a powerful influence over my daughter, I realized that it was okay!  It didn’t make me a bad parent, or mean that I couldn’t connect with her.  It meant that I could allow things to happen the way she needed them to, for her sake, and not hold her back.  Hopefully, she will also grow up being more willing to accept others’ guidance.

Leave a Reply

Categories

