Posted by: Shara | June 15, 2011

Frozen Faces

This poem was written long ago.  I don’t actually have any “I don’t like you” poems with my husband.  He has never given me cause to write any.  I edited and posted this, which has already been published once, to speak more to the emotional commonalities that bind us all together.

Frozen Faces

The loneliness soaks
through my skin,
Seeps down into the depths of my soul

It permeates my blood
And slowly affects my heart

I can’t seem to shake
the hollow emptiness
Or focus on drawing a breath

I sit, no more
than a shell,
Staring at the hanging pictures

Wondering why I only have frozen faces
And myself to keep me company

April 2011 (revised)

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

