Posted by: Shara | June 12, 2011

Biggest Fan

If I had one trait that I would choose for my children, it would be to be close-knit.  I have always wanted them to be close to their father, encouraged it, and always been overjoyed at the way they care about him and talk to him.  I have always wanted them to be close to each other.  It’s not until adulthood catches up with a person that realization about the old cliche, “blood’s thicker than water,” begins to show truth.  If they have each other, they could overcome anything.

I was watching my boys play, thinking about their age differences, and how they still overcome that.  They have their squabbles, but overall, my children are very cohesive.  It relieves me.  If they have nothing else, if anything ever happened to me, I want them to have each other.

Biggest Fan

I am my big brother’s biggest fan
I follow him whenever I can
Sometimes we adventure

He plays his sweet violin so well
At all his concerts I clap and yell
When he’s a performer

My bro dashes fast in his swift flight
His racing form is limber and light
He doesn’t touch the ground

He develops service project tasks
For kind people that don’t even ask
And, always, help is found

Dearest Boy Scout brother makes his way
Doing a good turn to start his day
He tries to do his best

He’s quite clever in science and math
He wants to take the engineer’s path
Put his smarts to the test

But my big brother, in my young mind
Is the bestest around you can find
He plays heroes with me

We run around, jump and ninja, too
The way that all good movie stars do
We play pirates in trees

We race our cars and build blanket tents
We get our secret messages sent
Only we understand

For in our short youthful, playful time
The world stands still to catch our prime
Held in exploring hands

My brother is eleven years old
And if, at three, I may be so bold
I say we’re a fine pair

Responses

  1. […] Shara: https://sharadarke.wordpress.com/2011/06/12/biggest-fan/ […]

    • YAY!

  2. cool.

    brothers could help and admire
    if they intend to love as one.

    Happy Rally.

    • I am very lucky that my two boys love each other so much. Thank you!

  3. This is cute! I like it.

    • Thank you, my boys would be pleased!

  4. Way cute and I’m all about ome violin playin. liked it a lot!!!!!!!!!!1

    http://henryclemmonspoet.blogspot.com/2011/06/just-man-recording-is-above.html

    • Everyone should have an artistic outlet! Thanks for the comment!

  5. I like to think I am my older sister’s biggest fan, so I can definitely relate. Love the rhyme scheme and word choice; they make the poem come alive as if jumping straight from a little girl’s brain. Well done.

    • That is awesome! To be close to a sibling like this makes life that much sweeter. I am glad that it spoke to you.

  6. Awww this is just precious =)

    • Thank you! I hope my boys are always this close.

  7. I like this a lot I missed out on this as an onlychild.. Really enjoyed it 🙂

    • Thank you for the kind comments! I appreciate your input on this piece!

  8. There’s nothing to compare… 🙂

    • Family can be full of the best friends a person can have. I agrees with you– I am blessed to be one of those people! Thanks for stopping by!

  9. A wonderful poem, I am the eldest of six and I am a huge fan of all my siblings they are great human beings, and we are all grown up now 🙂

    • It is the greatest thing to have awesome family to spend time with. There is nothing like sharing all of your special moments with people who have been around so long and really know you!

  10. Please Check out short story slam week 5,

    write a poem or a story based on the image, link to our week 5 collection of short stories, and have fun!
    Bless your day!
    Hope to see you in,
    Keep your creative juice running,
    BEST!
    xoxox


Leave a Reply

Categories

