Posted by: Shara | June 1, 2011

Egyptian Pyramids

Egypt, with all its mystery, rich history, incredible story, and vast artifacts (comparatively speaking) intrigues many people.  I am not to be left out of that count.  From the rising pyramids above the sand, I learned of strange rituals by the Egyptians.  I saw their striking artwork, and their records and writing.  And I was hooked.  Ancient mysteries of a long dead people are still causing modern-day man to wonder.

I had the chance to view the Ramses the second exhibit that was touring the U.S. when I was in sixth grade.  The glittering gold, the bold statements of color, all set in specially lit cases that increased the mystery.  It was amazing, and I will never forget it.

Fast forward to my early twenties, and I was reading a National Geographic.  I love that magazine, because it is SO well known for the vivid photography (and the articles aren’t bad, either!).  If a writer needs to write and feels like he has “writer’s block,” go pick some of these up from the local Goodwill or Salvation Army.  There is bound to be at least one photo that you MUST write about!  Mine was of the pyramids of Giza, rising statuesque above the sands, glowing in the light of a full moon.  The following is my response.

Midnight pyramids
bathed in golden reflection
of moon at its peak.
Mystical shimmers
of ancient paths,
sought by ghostly tread.
Hints of gods
and rituals
that danced
on wind and sand.

Responses

  1. Really good post!


Leave a Reply

Categories

