Posted by: Shara | April 26, 2011

Proposal: Good News!

Why can’t good news just be that… good news?  Good news comes in all forms.  It comes in the form of a hug, it comes in a scream or a shout, or it comes bursting forth from someone in a loud and fast ramble.  It can be about kids, laws, family, friends, something that happened at the office, or general good will passing between strangers because one was happy.  So why does good news cause any sort of angst?  Why do we feel like it deserves an explanation sometimes?

I play my cards close to my chest.  This is for a bad hand OR a good one.  And it is sad.  There is the list of people that I tell first, which understandably varies depending upon the situation.  There are some people that I don’t tell.  I know the reasons why.  These are the people that say things everyone has heard before.  “Why would you want to do that?”  “What are you going to do with that?” which also translates to “Where is THAT going to get you?”  “Have you thought this through?”  There are also the comparisons.  “I could have done that, but I didn’t want to.”  Or the inevitable look of “Where does that leave me?”

I have felt that reaction to other people’s good news.  I admit it.  I also admit that I know it was due to my own insecurities, my unhappiness with where I was in life, and/or the experiences I desired that felt like they were beyond my grasp.  I was not proud or satisfied with not being able to cheer them on.  I felt small, petty, and very much like a bad friend.

So, I have a proposal.  No matter what the inner reaction is, whether you agree or not, or are feeling envious, find it within yourself to cheer on good news!  We are in short supply of it these days.  The world and people’s hopes are on edge at the moment.  Good news for anyone should be a better view of life for all!  Let’s overcome ourselves.  Let’s say positive things in response to positive outcomes.  We will feel better about ourselves, and maybe… just maybe… we will return people’s hope by turning the negative to positive, one action at a time.

Leave a Reply

Categories

