Posted by: Shara | April 25, 2011

The Fine Craft…

I have almost finished with my second paid editing job, only a few weeks to go, and have found another one to take its place.  Editing can be excruciating, as I sometimes do not agree with the content or much needs to be edited to make the piece cohesive.  On the other hand, I love a challenge!  When I can take a piece and give it the voice the author meant for it to have, that clarification of thought is thrilling for me!  From what I have heard, it has also been joyous for the person whose piece I am editing!  Perfecting a piece by fixing the grammar mistakes, bringing punctuation to its optimum, and making sure that the flow and reader connections are solid is as gratifying for me as doing my own writing.

In continuing to hone my editing, I am aiming for a better capability to rework my own craft from a more removed standpoint.  The better that I can edit my own works, the more likely I am to be able to write understandable pieces that touch the audience.

Leave a Reply

Categories

