Posted by: Shara | April 24, 2011

Posing Philosophical Questions

Have you ever had a chance to sit down with someone and have a highbrow discussion about books, intellectual prowess, and the capabilities of writers to shape our societal philosophy?  I had the chance to do that tonight.  Thanks to that discussion, I have much to contemplate.

So for tonight, I am listing thoughts as they hum through my head.  Do writers really waste their poetic license by caving to certain unwritten rules in order to make things “more realistic” instead of writing to answer what they want the piece to be?  When we are “in the zone” and using our own area of expertise, do we take the risks that would improve our performance?  Do we lose satisfaction in our actions when there is no challenge?  When we have interacted with intellectual hierarchy, does the situation leave us wanting more or just prove that we have been found wanting?  Do truly great writings really shape the society that we live in?

I must take time to ponder the answers to these questions.  In the meantime, I was thinking of one last occurrence from earlier.  It is easier to learn from someone who is posing philosophical questions to help shape his personal journey, or yours, than to listen to the lectures from those who “know better.”

Responses

  1. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be actually something which I think I would never understand. It seems too complicated and extremely broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

