Posted by: Shara | April 10, 2011

Stepping Up

How do I go about accomplishing what I say I am going to?

I needed an example that toughed it out, kept true to himself, and had a proven work ethic that I could use as an example.  I chose Richard Marx, who has been one of my heroes since I discovered his second album.  It was not music that made me admire him.  Richard proved over and over again that he not only had the heart of music at his disposal, but that he cared about others and had the discipline to carry on no matter what obstacles stood in his path.  He started a program to keep the performing arts in schools.  He let go of the need to be “the focus” in order to allow himself to diversify and open himself up to new possibilities.

A few weeks ago I ran across this video, and it made the largest impression yet.  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W9abz_nSUZ8 Richard talked about having no excuse for writer’s block.  At the end of the day, creators, artists, need to have the same perseverance and work ethic as anyone pursuing a career in order to achieve lasting success.  I realized that if I want to be published, if I want to claim my place as a career writer or really accomplish anything at all, I need to step up and put in the effort.

Updates will be made to this site every day, so if there is not a new post, there will be new writings put up on the pages.

“There is an old saying.  The past is history.  The future is a mystery.  Today is a gift… that is why it is called the present.”    –Kung Fu Panda

Leave a Reply

Categories

